Portrait Franz Jaeger

Prof. em.
Franz
Jaeger

Academic Director Economics
Economics

Franz Jaeger was born on December 4th 1941 in St. Gallen. He is married and has four children. 

Professional Experience

In 1970, he received a PhD and in 1980, he habilitated at the University of St. Gallen. He is teaching economics there since 1972 and is managing director of the Research Institute for Empirical Economics and Economic Policy (FEW-HSG) since 1982. In that position Franz Jaeger supervises numerous projects in the economic-political consultancy and in the basic research. He was first in Switzerland to lecture for the "children university" - concept in St. Gallen. From 1971 to 1995, Franz Jaeger belonged to the Swiss National Council. From 1990 to 1991 he was President of National Counsils' finance commission and from 1992 to 1995 Member of National Counsils' economic commission (WAK). As ordinary Prof. Franz Jaeger attends the chair in economic policy at the University of St. Gallen. From October 1st 2001 to September 30th 2003 he was dean of the economic department. From November 1st 2007 until the end of 2016 he was responsible for the economic education in professional training at the University of St.Gallen (MBA-programmes in economics at Executive School of HSG (ES-HSG), amongst others EMBA, MBL, KMU).

Other activities

In the context of his main research Franz Jaeger publicized numerous papers in the fields of european integration policy, the macroeconomic stability policy and in economics of labour market, competition, privatization and deregulation. He is also publicist for several business journals and columnist for "Finanz und Wirtschaft".

Appointments

From the beginning of 2003 to the end of 2004 Franz Jaeger was member of the advisory council of the Avenir Suisse trust. Since 2004, he acts as a controlling expert in macroeconomic problems on a consultative basis for RSN Risk Solution Network AG (a cooperartion of 8 cantonal banks). According to media database SMD, Prof. Jaeger is considered as the most frequently cited expert in the primary swiss media. Franz Jaeger is President of the Board of Directors of bfw group and of "Für Sie" Holding AG and member of the Board of Directors of LLB (Swiss) AG. Since 2007 he and his wife are leading the "Nietlispach und Jaeger AG" for Communication and politico-economic consulting. Since 2013 he is President of the Education and Culture Forum Ostschweiz.

Portrait Franz Jaeger

Prof. em.
Franz
Jaeger

Economics

Franz Jaeger wurde am 4. Dezember 1941 in St.Gallen geboren. In St.Gallen, wo er aufgewachsen ist, besitzt er das Bürgerrecht. Franz Jaeger ist verheiratet und hat vier Kinder.

Beruflicher Werdegang

1970 promovierte er zum Dr. oec. und habilitierte sich 1980 an der Universität St.Gallen. Von 1972 bis 2007 lehrte er dort Volkswirtschaftslehre und war von 1989 bis 2007 geschäftsführender Direktor des von ihm gegründeten Forschungsinstituts für Empirische Ökonomie und Wirtschaftspolitik (FEW-HSG, heute SEW-HSG). In dieser Funktion betreute Franz Jaeger zahlreiche Projekte in der wirtschaftspolitischen Beratung sowie in der Grundlagenforschung. Er führte an der Universität St.Gallen als erster in der Schweiz eine Vorlesung im Rahmen der "Kinder-Universität" durch. Franz Jaeger gehörte von 1971 bis 1995 dem Schweizerischen Nationalrat an. Von 1990 bis 1991 war er Präsident der nationalrätlichen Finanzkommission und von 1992 bis 1995 Mitglied der nationalrätlichen Wirtschaftskommission (WAK). Als Ordinarius betreute Franz Jaeger von 1996 bis 2007 den Lehrstuhl für Wirtschaftspolitik an der Universität St.Gallen. Vom 1. Oktober 2001 bis 30. September 2003 stand er als Dekan der volkswirtschaftlichen Abteilung (SEPS-HSG) vor. Vom 1. November 2007 bis Ende 2016 zeichnete er als Leitungsmitglied (und Hauptdozent) an der Executive School der HSG für die Gestaltung und Koordination der volkswirtschaftlichen Ausbildung auf der Weiterbildungsstufe der Universität St. Gallen (MBA-Spezialprogramme, u.a. EMBA, EMBE, KMU), für die neuen Zertifikatsprogramme sowie für den Bereich Wirtschafts- und Gesellschaftspolitik verantwortlich.

Weitere Tätigkeiten

Im Rahmen seiner Forschungsschwerpunkte veröffentlichte Franz Jaeger in den letzten Jahren zahlreiche Arbeiten (Bücher, Artikel) auf den Gebieten der europäischen Integrationspolitik, der makroökonomischen Stabilitätspolitik, der Arbeitsmarkt-, der Wettbewerbs-, der Privatisierungs- und der Deregulierungsökonomie. Er wurde auch mit verschiedenen akademischen Preisen ausgezeichnet, u.a. von der Technischen Universität München als „Professor des Jahres 2011“. Er war zudem in zahlreichen Printmedien publizistisch tätig.

Interessenbindungen

Von Anfang 2003 bis Ende 2004 war Franz Jaeger im Beirat der Stiftung Avenir Suisse. Seit 2004 wirkt er als massgebender Experte für makroökonomische Fragestellungen im Mandatsverhältnis mit privaten und öffentlichen Institutionen. Franz Jaeger galt gemäss der Mediendatenbank SMD während Jahren als einer der in den wichtigsten Schweizer Medien am meisten zitierte Experte. Seit 2007 führt er zusammen mit seiner Frau die Familien-AG "Nietlispach und Jaeger AG" für Kommunikation und wirtschaftspolitische Beratung. Franz Jaeger war Mitglied/Präsident verschiedener in- und ausländischer Verwaltungsräte und Stiftungen. Seit 2013 ist er Präsident des Bildungs- und Kulturforums Ostschweiz.

Back to top