Drive Innovation
Many of us think we’re not creative. But when we’re in a situation that demands creativity, we find out we were wrong; creativity is not the rare attribute so many of us assume it is. This is also true for innovation. “Doing” an innovation project or “being” innovative may sound daunting, but really, it just requires a toolkit and the willingness to try. Even better? You can integrate these tools and approaches into your company, with real impact.

A gamification approach to innovation

An automotive company wanted to shape its digital transformation strategy.

A «gamification» approach was chosen to ideate new digital services and products. Rather than imposing a strategy from the top, the conscious choice was made to generate the ideas bottom-up. Following up on the most promising ones using a «lean-start-up-methodology», some of the ideas were implemented and created the building blocks of a digital transformation strategy.

Ideation with «Future Deck» gamification

Frugal Innovation

Oliver Gassmann on frugal innovation – meaning developing products for the bottom of the pyramid in emerging markets.

Design Thinking

Design Thinking is a development that has recently attracted significant attention in the management discourse. The Institute of Information Management at the University of St. Gallen, the academic home of all three authors, has been conducting Design Thinking teaching and research for 10 years.

In this study, Design Thinking is defined as: mindset, process, and toolbox. As a mindset, Design Thinking is characterized by several key principles: a combination of divergent and convergent thinking, a strong orientation to both obvious and hidden needs of customers and users, and prototyping. As a process, Design Thinking is seen as a combination of a micro- and a macro-process.

The micro-process—as innovation process per se—consists of these steps: “Define the Problem”, “Needfinding and Synthesis”, “Ideate”, “Prototype” and “Test”. The macro-process consists of milestones manifested in prototypes that must fulfill defined requirements. As a toolbox, Design Thinking refers to the application of numerous methods and techniques from various disciplines: design, but also engineering, informatics, and psychology. Today, a growing number of companies, consulting firms, and universities use Design Thinking, continuously enlarging and re-defining its meaning.

At University of St.Gallen, Design Thinking is taught as a problem-based course, together with research partner companies, with more than 40 projects successfully completed over the past 10 years. Research in Design Thinking at the University of St.Gallen focuses on aspects of modeling the Design Thinking processes and corporate entrepreneurship.

In the near future, Design Thinking is expected to be deployed as an innovative method in corporations and also become an integral part of management education, particularly innovation. In addition, it will be developed further at the interface of design, design management and engineering sciences.

Design Thinking
Explore the potential of Design Thinking for today’s innovation tasks.
Back to top

Drive Innovation
Viele Menschen denken, sie seien nicht kreativ. Doch Kreativität ist gar nicht so eine seltene Fähigkeit, wie viele meinen. Das trifft auch auf Innovation zu. «Innovativ sein» oder «ein innovatives Projekt leiten» hört sich schwierig an, aber alles was es wirklich dafür braucht, ist der eigene Wille sowie ein adäquater Werkzeugkasten. Das Beste an der Sache? Sie können diesen Werkzeugkasten auch in Ihrer Firma mit echtem Impact zur Anwendung bringen.

Ideenbildung durch Gamifizierung

Eine Automobilfirma beabsichtigte ihre (digitale) Strategie anzupassen.

Eine Gamifizierungsansatz wurde gewählt, um neue digitale Services und Produkte zu kreieren, aber nicht top-down sondern bottom-up. Vielversprechende Ideen wurden mit der «lean-start-up»-Methode entwickelt. Anschliessend wurden die besten Ideen implementiert.  Heute bilden diese die Eckpunkte einer vollumfänglichen Digital-Transformations-Strategie.

Ideenbildung durch Gamifizierung

Frugale Innovation

Oliver Gassmann über «frugale Innovation», d.h. die Entwicklung von Produkten für die breite Masse in aufstrebenden Märkten wie bpsw. Indien, China, Afrika.

«Design Thinking»

Design Thinking ist eine Entwicklung, die in letzter Zeit in der Managementgemeinde für grosses Aufsehen gesorgt hat. Das Institut für Informationsmanagement der Universität St. Gallen, der akademischen Heimat aller drei Autoren, betreibt bereits seit 10 Jahren Forschung und Lehre im diesem Bereich.

In der hier präsentierten Studie wird Design Thinking als Mindset, Prozess und Werkzeugkiste definiert. Als Mindset ist Design Thinking durch verschiedene Charakteristika definiert: eine Kombination von divergentem und konvergentem Denken sowie eine starke Orientierung an sowohl den versteckten als auch den offensichtlichen Bedürfnissen der Kunden und Nutzer. Prototyping steht hierbei als Lösungsentwicklung stark im Vordergrund. Als Prozess wird Design Thinking als Kombination von Mikro- und Makroprozessen gesehen.

Der Mikroprozess, als Innovation per se, besteht aus den Schritten: «Definiere das Problem», «Bedürfnisermittlung und Synthese», «finde Ideen», «erstelle Prototypen» und «Teste». Der Makroprozess besteht aus Meilensteinen, basierend auf verschiedenen Prototypen, die unterschiedlich definierte Anforderungen erfüllen müssen. Als Werkzeugkiste nimmt Design Thinking Bezug auf die Anwendung von zahlreichen Methoden und Techniken verschiedener Disziplinen: Aus Design, aber auch Informatik, Ingenieurswissenschaften und Psychologie.

An der Universität St. Gallen wird Design Thinking als problemorientierter Kurs in Zusammenarbeit mit Forschungspartnern aus der Wirtschaft unterrichtet. In den letzten zehn Jahren konnten so mehr als 40 Projekte erfolgreich abgeschlossen werden. Forschung im Bereich des Design Thinking an der Universität St. Gallen konzentriert sich auf das «Modelling» von Design Thinking Prozessen und deren Anwendung auf «Entrepreneurship Initiativen».

In der nahen Zukunft wird erwartet, dass Design Thinking als innovative Methode in Firmen stärker angewandt und ein integraler Teil der Managerausbildung werden wird (besonders im Bereich der Innovation). Zusätzlich wird es an der Schnittstelle von Design, Designmanagement und Ingenieurswissenschaften weiterentwickelt werden.

Back to top